Track

I’ve heard a lot of people considering going on the track but have hesitated for many reasons.

I might ruin my car.

I might hurt myself.

Doesn’t the track mean you can’t drive the car on the road?

It’s not made for the track.

I think that if you ever have the chance to go on the track once, you should definitely do it. I’ll explain a few reasons why I think it’s worth it and why it’s become important for me in the last few years.

_DSC7732

I personally love driving. If you haven’t read my previous posts; I talk about my experiences and my absolute passion for cars.

I’ve gone on plenty on drives around NSW and somewhat in VIC as well, both spiritedly and to enjoy the scenery. You get to see things that you’d often not see ever if you stayed in the city or in the burbs. I love driving to the beaches or through forests with trees on both sides. In one of my previous posts – this is my time-out.

But even though I was “well travelled” and thought to myself that I was a pretty good driver, I was never able to really test my own ability or push the car’s limit in a safe environment. Yes, I’ve done stupid things of public roads but it was illegal so I’m going to avoid talking about it.

So when one of my mate’s invited me to go on a track day, I had the same thoughts as listed above. I had this fear of what I’d seen on television or videos; Formula 1 or the V8s that in every race, there was always a crash somewhere. I had a fear that once I had tracked my car, it could no longer be registered as road vehicle. Not true.

I really had a “screw it” moment and signed up for this track day and learnt very quickly how highly regulated these track days were – that safety was a priority and that they wanted everyone to drive home at the end of the day in one piece – both them and their cars.

I still remember the first time getting on the actual track in my bone stock 86. I took off pass the concrete wall and I was hitting a solid 80km/h. It felt like I was going 40km/h on the track. There was so much road, zero traffic ahead of me and run-offs that were at least 100m on each side. It was the first time that I could really test out the car to it’s limits without having to worry about breaking the law. It was absolutely exhilarating.

_DSC7747.jpg

I believe that this was the very first time that I really tested out the car’s performance to it’s fullest in conjunction to the ability of which I could drive the car at that stage. This is not saying I could ring out the full potential of the car at that very moment because I wasn’t a very good driver. Which leads me to my next point: Limitations.

On the track, there is only one limitation; to be safe. Not drive safely, just be safe. There is no other limitations. You’re allowed to go as fast as you want in any car you want. I’ve seen a Kia Rio around the track before. The track allows you as the driver to test out your limits, how hard you can push the car, how much fear you have (when taking a corner and you start to lose control) and how much courage you have. No-one can really tell you these things, it’s really up to you how far you want to go. People can give you advice about apexes and braking/acceleration but unless you’re willing to test it out, you’ll never know.

In the end, its up to you but I think it’s worth at least going to the track once! To sum it all up in one sentence – you get to test out the limits of your car in conjunction to the limits of yourself in a safe environment. Anyways, here’s Wonderwall. Or in this case, Craig’s MX-5

 

Toyotas and Nissans can play together…

 

Into motion:

Boot-ys:

If you’re in NSW, feel free to message me on upcoming track days and we help organise to get you into the next one!

_DSC7764

Leave a Reply

